Review

REVIEW | Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia

Blurb:

Her story is a phenomenon. Her life is a disaster.

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, and friendless. Online, she’s LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of the wildly popular webcomic Monstrous Sea. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves the online one, and she has no desire to try.

Then Wallace Warland, Monstrous Sea’s biggest fanfiction writer, transfers to her school. Wallace thinks Eliza is just another fan, and as he draws her out of her shell, she begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile.

But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart.

Genre: YA Contemporary

Rating: 4.5/5 stars


 

Review:

I should start off by saying that I don’t usually read YA fiction, but Francesca Zappia will be added to my list of exceptions, right next to Rainbow Rowell ❤

Okay I freakin loved this book. It was a breath of fresh air, and unlike anything I’ve ever read before. I loved that this book wasn’t about dating the hottest boy in school or even who to go to prom with. This book speaks to fangirls and fanboys everywhere. A fandom is a beautiful place where people can connect through the love of a book, or movie or tv show. This brought me back to my Tumblr days, making gif sets and writing oneshots on fanfiction.net. The nostalgia was real. I loved all the group chats, especially because they reminded me so much of my friends and our threads. I also really loved how relatable this book is.

Eliza and Wallace are absolutely perfect for eachother. I fell in love with Wallace instantly. And every time the author mentioned his “big hulking frame” I fell a little bit more *heart eyes*

There were some parts I found to be annoying, mostly with Eliza’s parents, and with the way Eliza handed the situation with her parents. I found her to be selfish. But that might just be my dislikes about YA Fiction

Overall, I really really enjoyed this book! And I already placed an order for Made You Up! ❤

Until next time – xo gabby


Links

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

 

Follow Francesca Zappia

Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook | Website

Leave a Reply

